2 Jubilee Road
Set on a hill, overlooking the scenic Lahave River, is a home with equal architectural and historical value. 2 Jubilee has undergone a few renovations but retains many of its original elements. This nearly one-hundred-and-seventy year old house has belonged to some significant figures in Bridgewater's history in shipping and industry.
Set on a hill, behind the tall old trees on the corner of King Street and Jubilee Road, stands a striking home full of character and history. 2 Jubilee (or the Dalgleish House) may be described as a Maritime Vernacular home, a popular style in Bridgewater. Though it was built in 1844, the home maintains many of its original features. Its character-defining elements include intricate brackets and a turned post railing on its veranda, sidelights and moulded trim, six-over-six windows, and returned eaves. This local treasure's architectural significance is matched by its historical importance.
The first landowner, Mr. William Oakes, towed schooners to local businesses with his team of oxen. Oakes watched for schooners passing down the LaHave River from Haines Point. His team of five oxen often towed three schooners at once for the four kilometer journey to Bridgewater. Whether day or night, whether rain, shine or snow, Oakes and his family would work together to tow the goods the town needed and were paid a few dollars per vessel.
Oakes' cousin Obediah Parker from Bridgetown built the home in 1844. Parker operated one of the tanneries just a hundred yards away. Parker divided his land between the home and commercial lots before he sold it in 1859 and by 1870, that riverfront held a shipyard, blacksmith shop and steam mill. Bridgewater was the manufacturing centre of the county at that time, with a shipyard, four tanneries, three foundries, several gang-mills and a furniture factory.
After Parker, David Hebb bought the home. The Hebb family were tanners and farmers. The Hebb family owned the home from 1859 until 1885, and during that time it was owned by David and Hannah Hebb, Abraham Hebb, and finally Aaron Hebb. The Hebb family has been involved in farming in Lunenburg County for many years and members of the Hebb family still run Stewart Hebb's Greenhouses and Indian Garden Farms today. In fact, the Hebb family's Indian Garden Farms developed, owns and harvests from the oldest commercial cranberry bog in Canada, developed in the late nineteenth-century.
In 1895, the home was bought by another significant man: Captain Jacob Crouse, master of the S.S. Bridgewater. The S.S. Bridgewater travelled from Bridgewater to Halifax. Captain Crouse added the large dormer to the home before passing the home on to his daughter Maude Dalgleish, for whom the home is named.
As one of the oldest homes in Bridgewater, 2 Jubilee Road stands as a testament to the town's heritage and some of its significant figures in shipping and industry.
 Ref. file: Built Heritage, Inventory Site Form
 History of the County of Lunenburg, Judge DesBrisay,
 Seasoned Timbers. Vol. 2, The Heritage Trust of Nova Scotia 1974, p.70. DesBrisay Museum vertical ref. file.
 "Hebb family farm roots run deep." Gerrie Grevatt. The Chronicle Herald, June 1st, 1998. DesBrisay Museum Biography Files. "Hebb Family".
 "Cranberry producer has country's oldest bog". Kelly MacDonald. Bridgewater Bulletin, Dec. 30th, 1998. DesBrisay Museum Biography Files. "Hebb Family".
 Seasoned Timbers. Vol. 2, The Heritage Trust of Nova Scotia 1974, p.70. Built Heritage files. Photograph U013 DBP 283