24 Alexandra Avenue

Share This!

24_Alexandra
Address: 24 Alexandra Avenue
Heritage Status: Recognized
Built: 1879
Builder/Architect: Stephen March
Style: Greek Revival, Maritime Vernacular

 

Architecture:

  • Originally Greek Revival styled two-story gable-roofed house
  • Two story hipped roof extensions at either side, the first floor part being used as bay windows with a small extending roof
  • 6-over-6 windows still located on front windows
  • Front bay window with truncated hipped roof
  • Fascinating portico, with pedimented moulded dormer, truncated hipped roof, and capital mouldings on the supporting posts
  • Sidelights and transom have been filled in
  • Middle section—truncated gable with a pedimended dormer (6-over-6 window) was added c.1893, by moving the original ell backwards (it still is only on sills, not a foundation); it is only 1.5 stories high and added an extra bedroom and bathroom when the owner’s son got married; also added kitchen and dining room
  • Ell in back is single story, gable-roofed; chimney has rounded cap on it

 

History:

  • Rev. Stephen March came to Canada from Somerset, England, in 1854; he trained in law, worked in the newspaper business, and was ordained by the Baptist Church in new Brunswick. During his first stay in Bridgewater (1862-1874) he lived in old Baptist parsonage on King Street, but bought this lot (and the one to its right) for 66.00 from John Slocomb who was subdividing the estate of William Slocomb. He only built the house c. 1879 when he returned to Bridgewater after a 5 year absence. He also left for two years from 1893-1895. His son, S. Edgar, owned the house from 1907-1950 and was a noted engineer, barrister, and railway employee, he then willed it to his daughter, Nina; the house finally left the March family in the 1980s, being sold upon her death.