54 Jubilee Rd.

Share This!

54 Jubilee

Address: 54 Jubilee Rd.

Heritage Status: None
Built: 1894 Builder/Architect: Unknown
Style: Influences of Queen Ann

Architecture:

  • Once a grand old lady, it is only in recent years that this house has been stripped of its unique elements. This late 19th century house has little reminiscent of its original style. On the rear and side facing Jubilee Road, an external staircase and entryway has been added. 

History:

  • Joseph Hickson was a "mariner" according to the deed of 1894 when he acquired the land on which this house is built. He paid a total of $305 for the property, which suggests that no building stood on the property at that time. However, the A. F. Church Map (c.1883) indicates a building here in the name of "J.Wilkie". Presumably this older building was torn down to make way for the present house. A subsequent owner was James Cross, listed in the 1914 Lunenburg County Directory, as a labourer. 

Source: Built Heritage Files, DesBrisay Museum