|Address: 483 King St.||Heritage Status: None|
|Built: 1900||Builder/Architect: Unknown|
This building has a flat-iron style derived from the acute street angle on which it is situated. It features elaborate double bracketed cornices and crisscross panels below the roof line. It has a dentil cornice over the first level and capped columns at the corner boards, as well as unique rounded moulding at the roof line and first floor division. It retains its peaked and classical corbels and shingled siding as well.
The building was erected in 1900 by David McKay, a merchant. Following McKay, the building was used by many businesses, including the Bank of Montreal, the Union Bank of Canada, a barber shop operated by Evans Wile and Walter Rawding, the Bridgewater Power Company office, a boot and shoe business run by Arkanus Wile, Camera Corner, a tailor shop run by Sam Saade, and Babylon Draperies – whose owners were awarded the first Bridgewater Heritage Award in 2015 for conserving the building’s original architectural features.
Source: Built Heritage Files, DesBrisay Museum