Address: 48 Elm St.

Heritage Status: None
Built: c. 1890 Builder/Architect: Probably Davison Lumber and Manufacturing Co.
Style: Victorian



  • This late Victorian structure is unique in the town. Its steeply pitched intersecting roofs give it a chateau-like quality which reflects the wealth of its owner. The home has lost much of its original character-defining elements as a result of its vinyl siding and renovations.



  • The home appears to have been built in the late 1880s or early 1890s. The house does not appear on the 1883 Church Map, but in 1889, this piece of land was sold to Archie Davison in a division of land among all the Davison brothers. Construction of this house took place shortly thereafter. Archie Davison was the son of E.D. Davison, founder of Davison Lumber and Manufacturing Co. , one of the largest lumber companies in Canada in its time. Archie and his brothers continued running the business until they sold the company in 1903. 


Source: Built Heritage Files, DesBrisay Museum